Homemade Daily Shower Cleaner

I loathe cleaning the shower more than I hate washing dishes.

In college I thought I was so smart to use a bathroom cleaner with Teflon so I could scrub the shower less often.  It was super convenient to get a head-splitting migraine every time I cleaned the tub so I had to lay in bed rather than party it up at the ‘backer with my friends.

And there begins my case for using natural cleaners- because everyone chooses a party over a headache!

I eventually discovered daily shower cleaner but I held my breath as I sprayed (even the natural kind) and I freaked out about the chemicals that came in contact with my shampoo so I rinsed everything under hot water and I think that defeats the purpose.

Now, I avoid the agony and make my own.

I developed this shower spray using a few key ingredients to keep mold and mildew at bay.  I opted not to use white vinegar because it can deteriorate grout and tile; I definitely don’t want to take that chance now but I will keep it in mind when I want a new tub surround in our future home. 😉

Rubbing alcohol acts is a drying agent so the water will absorb quickly; I used this in place of the Jet Dry that seems commonly used in homemade shower cleaners.  Hydrogen peroxide is a natural mold inhibitor.  Essential oil adds a nice scent and certain types (i.e. tea tree, lavender) are naturally anti-bacterial.

Daily Shower Spray

  • 1/3 c. rubbing alcohol
  • 1/3 c. hydrogen peroxide
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 5-6 drops essential oil such as peppermint or lavender

Mix all ingredients together and pour into a spray bottle.  You may need to double the recipe if you use a larger spray bottle.  Squeegee your shower after each use then follow with spray once a day.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Daily Shower Cleaner

  1. I’m currently in the process of using up my cleaning products to make the switch to natural, homemade stuff so this recipe comes at a perfect time. PS: I think I’d rather clean the shower than do dishes, haha, but that may be because dishes are NEVERENDING in my house.

  2. oh! I’m excited to try this. I wonder, does the mixture have to be used up by a certain time, or will the peroxide keep? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

