Counting My Blessings

Bacon encountered a rattlesnake for the first time this morning.

Some people don’t think it is a big deal; I am not one of those people.

By “encounter” I mean he practically stood on top of a Mohave Green rattlesnake, one of the most dangerous snakes in the Sonoran Desert; more deadly than a Diamondback.  The snake was small so it could have been a baby, prone to bite impulsively without venom control.

(This was not the snake we saw today; this guy was a 6 footer we saw in Saguaro National Park)

Here’s the crazy part, I always let Bacon off the leash on this trail, it’s wide, well-traveled and goes along running water so it is a great place to play.  Today, I kept him on leash because there were bird watchers nearby and a 120 lb. dog running at you is slightly terrifying.   I am so thankful he was on the leash, otherwise, he might not have backed away from the snake.

We never put Bacon through rattlesnake aversion classes because we were only supposed to live here 5 months through the fall & winter when rattlesnakes aren’t very active.  So much for that.

I am so thankful that my healthy, happy dog is scarfing down his food right now rather than lying in a vet’s office getting injections of anti-venom.

This makes me want to talk about gratitude.

I don’t practice gratitude nearly as often as I should.  I take for granted the healthy food on my table, the roof over my head, the air conditioning in my house and the cute workout clothes I love to wear.  Gratitude is healthy.  Grateful people take care of themselves, are more optimistic, stress less and tend to be happier regardless of income.*

Here are some tips to help you practice gratitude:

  • Keep a journal, before you go to bed each night, write one thing you were thankful for today
  • Write something on the bathroom mirror to inspire you to be thankful
  • Give to those in need
  • Try to see the positive in all situations

I plan to spend my entire weekend filled with gratitude.  Gratitude for the father and father-in-law in my life, the grandfather I was so privileged to have and for my sweet husband.   I will be thankful for our friends as we spend out last 2 weeks together and thankful for the food on my table.

But for right now, in this moment, hanging out with my dog is enough for me.

*Source WebMD

Leave a Reply

