If It Doesn’t Challenge You, It Doesn’t Change You

I just saw this on Pinterest:

source

I could not have seen this on a better day.  I just finished what I thought would be a short and easy 3 mile run.  Nope.  I was smoked from my 90 min. yoga class and 50 min. swim session yesterday.  My legs were cramping, my core muscles were tight and I woke up with a headache and cough.  Hardly ideal but I didn’t want to quit.  I’m training for an Olympic Tri and I can’t skip out on my training calendar already!  I was pleasantly surprised to complete my run in 25 minutes, NOT FAST by any means, but a definite improvement over the past few months.  I am not (nor have I ever been) a runner, I just do it anyway.

Progress.

I have been frustrated in yoga lately; I’ve been squeezing in a lot of extra workouts and my muscles are often tight and sore.  I feel like the instructor pushes me because I am physically strong and fairly flexible but I often can’t rise to her expectations.  Some days my body just doesn’t want to do a back bend and I hate being faulted for it.  “I’ve seen you do it before” is the phrase I dread hearing in class.  At times when I get frustrated, I think back to the days when I first started yoga and I could hardly open my hips and roll my shoulders “back and down.”

Progress.

I often think about the task of detoxing my home & life.  It is something I have been passionate about for a long time and I am a little disappointed that I still haven’t made a 100% switch.  For example, I still use my Swiffer, it is just so darn convenient and our kitchen floor is white.  We can’t all be perfect.  But I think about how far I’ve come in the past year, making the switch from plastic to reusable bags (and REMEMBERING to take them out of the car), making my own cleaners, switching to a healthier laundry detergent and natural stain removers, cleaning up my beauty regimen and completely ridding our home of processed junk.

Progress.

But there is still a long way to go.  Now that March is upon us and the first day of spring is on the 20th, it is time to start thinking about spring cleaning.  Have you checked out the Green Healed Challenge?  It’s an easy schedule to help you clean up your home in less time using fewer chemicals.  Every week throughout the month of March, I will give you updates and suggestions to help you follow along on the challenge.  I also challenge you to purge the things you don’t need and donate them, sell them, whatever.  Just get rid of the excess!  Get rid of chemicals that aggravate allergies & asthma, the toys no one uses, old, outdated & unused clothes, home decor & electronics, food that doesn’t nourish your body and anything else that adds clutter to your life!

Let’s all try not to get discouraged over the small things and to see the progress we make in our daily lives.  Make some progress in your home and try the Green Healed Challenge this spring.

 

Leave a Reply

