Almond Flour Dark Chocolate Chip & Toffee Cookies (Gluten-Free)

I could not wait until the end of the week to share this recipe, you should probably change your plans and bake these today.  Call in sick, you need some protein in the form of a cookie.

Let’s talk about my baking habits.  Occasionally, I bake because my sweet tooth gets the best of me (or something online looks too good to pass up), sometimes, I just miss looking at my pink KitchenAid mixer and other times I want to create something because I truly love the process.

Usually I can stave off a craving with some peppermint tea but today my sweet tooth convinced my brain that it needed cookies and the mixer was unnecessary.  I must have been desperate.

I took a leisurely stroll through the market (did I mention that I love grocery shopping?) and came across Ghirardelli 60% cacao chips and thought “ohhh I can finally make those almond butter cookies” then I spotted the toffee crunch and thought “or I could make those delicious chocolate chip & toffee cookies that the hub loves so much” so both items went into the cart and my mind started racing.

The outcome was this deliciousness:

A high-protein, almond flour cookie made with coconut oil, stevia and agave nectar. Trust me, no one can even tell these are missing butter, eggs and sugar, they are SO good.

Almond Flour Chocolate Chip Toffee Cookies (recipe adapted from The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook by Elana Amsterdam)

Makes approx. 25 cookies, Total time: 30 minutes

  • 2.5 c. blanched almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tbsp. Stevia powder
  • 1/2 c. + 1 tbsp. coconut oil, divided (make sure the oil is in a liquid state)
  • 1/4 c. agave nectar
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 c. dark chocolate chips (gluten-free)
  • 1/4 c. gluten-free toffee bits (gluten-free)

Method:

In a large bowl combine almond flour, salt, baking soda and Stevia.  In a medium bowl, whisk the coconut oil with agave nectar and vanilla extract.  Stir the wet ingredients into the almond flour mixture until combined.  Fold in the chocolate chips and toffee. Refrigerate for 20 minutes.

While the dough is in the refrigerator, preheat the oven to 350F and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

Remove the dough from the refrigerator and spoon 1 tablespoon at a time onto the baking sheets, shape into a ball and flatten, leave about 2 inches between each cookie.  Bake for 12-15 minutes until golden brown.  Let the cookies cool before serving (I know it is difficult).

See, I couldn’t help myself.

Leave a Reply

