Coconut Oil Beauty Bars

Do you remember your childhood best friend?  The two of you were inseparable, at least until she became a bit irritating so you shoved her aside just long enough to realize how much you missed her; then the two of you became BFFs again and started wearing super-cool BEST FRIEND necklaces?

That describes my relationship with coconut oil.

I was introduced to the idea of using raw, unprocessed coconut oil as a skincare product back in August, I conveniently stored it in the shower and used it as an all-over moisturizer.  My skin fell in love.  It was great during the summer months but as nights got colder, it became more difficult for me to pry the solidified oil out of the jar so I set it aside and found a new favorite lotion.  Well, in the middle of Lotus pose I became so distracted by my neglected winter tootsies that I decided it was time to revisit the half-empty jar of coconut oil that was just chillin in my shower.

I placed the jar in warm water to transform it to a liquid, then I slathered the summery smelling oil on my feet, knees and elbows.  What a difference!  This girl’s new (rediscovered) best friend.

Here is some more great news- coconut oil removes even the most stubborn eye makeup!

The wonder product?  Maybe.

I had to share my recipe for Coconut Oil Beauty Bars– they are SO easy to make and you can keep one in every bathroom, at every sink and even by your bedside.

Step 1: If solid, place coconut oil into a bowl of hot water and cover with a towel, let sit 15 minutes or until oil returns to a liquid state

Step 2: Find a muffin pan and fill as many compartments as you would like, I chose to make one for my bedside table, one for my bathroom, one to use as an eye makeup remover and an extra to store in the refrigerator.

Step 3: Use essential oils to scent the coconut oil, you can use peppermint, tea tree, lavender, vanilla, etc.  I added 3 drops of peppermint to create foot moisturizer and in another I added 3 drops of lavender to make a body moisturizer. I did not scent the bar that I will use on my face.  Be sure to mix the oils well using a small spatula or spoon.

Step 4: Put the muffin tin in the fridge for about an hour, when you pull it out the oil should be completely solid and should easily pop out using a knife.

Step 5: Store in a container or jar for use, keep in mind that during summer months, the oil may become more of a liquid, in that case you might have to store the bars in the refrigerator.  Always let the oil absorb before dressing.

Now, go bask in all of that summery, coconut goodness!

Leave a Reply

