Meal Plan Monday

Er… Tuesday.  Oops.

I was a little distracted by that big game, you know, the National Championship.  I just had to spend Monday perfecting my yellow-hammer drink recipe, carefully selecting my crimson and houndstooth outfit, making some Moroccan chili and whipping up some totally unhealthy (but totally crowd-pleasing) football shaped Oreo truffles for the big game!  Roll Tide!

Let me describe how dinner works in this house.  I LOVE vegetables, if left to my own devices, I would not cook meat; it is not that I don’t enjoy eating meat, it’s just such a process with the defrosting & the nasty goo.  I have yet to overcome the YUCK factor so I leave the meat to the Mister and I take care of everything else.  Cooking dinner together is one of our favorite routines.  We really try to prepare meals that fit both of our needs; Bob lifts a lot of weights and his body responds well to a high protein diet whereas my body prefers more of a plant based diet so I often skip the meat and opt for the veggie “side dish” instead.

Our dinners have a few rules.

1) There must be enough left over for 2 lunches

2) There must be a protein component and a substantial fruit/vegetable component

3)  Dinners do not include pasta or bread except on very special occasions

4) Cheese is used sparingly.  We enjoy sprinkling freshly grated Parmesan or crumbling a bit of feta but blocks of cheese are certainly off limits (mostly because I am a total cheese glutton who cannot be trusted)

5) Experimentation is necessary, repeats are optional.  You won’t see many repeat meals on our weekly meal plans, I love trying  new recipes and challenging myself to prepare new dishes, only our favorites deserve to be repeated.

6) Salad dressing is homemade but we keep a bottle on standby if we are in a hurry (or feeling lazy, don’t judge)

So, here is our meal plan for the week, I hope this helps you find some new recipes that are healthy and gluten free!

Monday: Moroccan Buffalo & Chickpea Chili from Clean Eating Magazine.  This recipe has such a wonderful mix of spices, it is a nice twist on chili.  In the past we prepared the recipe with ground buffalo but this week we opted for lean beef; either choice is delicious.  For a vegetarian option, skip the beef and add more chickpeas or other beans of your choice.

Tuesday: Roasted Chicken with Cleansing Ginger Soup

Wednesday: Spicy Turkey Burgers with Quinoa Salad w/ Pears, Baby Spinach and Chickpeas   The turkey burgers will be some kind of surprise concoction but the quinoa salad is a delicious recipe from Gluten Free Goddess, you really must give it a try!

Thursday: Satsuma Beef & Vegetable Stir Fry with Broccolini and Spicy Sesame Vinaigrette  The stir-fry is one of our favorites, I substitute clementines for Satsuma oranges because they are difficult to find.  The sesame vinaigrette is a new recipe for us so we will see how it goes!

Friday: Chicken Breasts with Kale & Lentil Pilaf This recipe comes from Bon Appetit’s Food Lover’s Cleanse, I found some great recipe ideas as I flipped through the pages of the latest issue.  In this dish, I will substitute quinoa for freekah, only because I have quinoa on hand. 

Saturday (cheat day): Spinach and Sausage Stuffed Peppers This recipe is from Food & Wine Magazine, it is one of our favorite weekend dinners; we don’t make it very often but revisit it every few months.  We usually modify the bread ingredient by substituting for gluten-free bread, bread crumbs or omitting it all together.  This dish is so flavorful, we both agree it is the best stuffed pepper recipe we have ever made.

Sunday: Chile Colorado  We have a bag of dried red chiles and we are so excited to attempt this Mexican dish.  After moving to Arizona, we really began experimenting with Mexican inspired dishes.  We love making them healthy and kicking up the spice.  I have yet to commit to a recipe for Chile Colorado (if you have one, I will take suggestions) but I will post the recipe and the results next week!

I hope you find something on this meal plan that suits your appetite!

Leave a Reply

