So Fresh & So Clean

It has been awhile since I posted about our laundry room makeover here and I finally have an update to share.

Our first step in the laundry room makeover was switching to a new and less chemical-laden detergent.  We now use Seventh Generation, Natural 2x Concentrated Laundry Detergent, Blue Eucalyptus & Lavender.  A free and clear option is available; however, I love the scent of clean laundry.  The fragrance is derived from essential oils and does not irritate my sensitive nose.  I was pleasantly surprised by it’s cleaning ability, scent and price.  I truly appreciate that Seventh Generation discloses all of the ingredients, is not petroleum based and has an undetectable presence of 1,4-dioxane. (source)

Speaking of price, here are the details:

Price: $7.99 for 33 loads from drugstore.com compared to my old brand priced at $8.39 for 20 loads

I may not get a full 33 loads from my detergent, I tend to overfill the cup, but I was pleased with the price of our new detergent versus our old brand.

I have never been a bleach user but I picked up a bottle of Seventh Generation Chlorine Free Bleach in hopes that it will whiten my whites and help remove ground in dog-park dirt from my colors.  So far, I love the way it works and especially love the lack of chlorine smell- I don’t miss those bleach spots on my black pants either!

In addition to the detergent & bleach, I have a new power trio:

Borax, Tea Tree Oil, White Vinegar

I add a drop or two (depending on the load) of tea tree oil to my laundry detergent to boost the scent and help disinfect clothes naturally.  Borax is a great substitute for non-chlorine bleach, it boots detergent, helps remove stains and softens our hard & mineral rich water.  I add ½ cup to every load, it is even safe for our high efficiency machine!  One day I will make a post solely about the cleaning power of Borax.  White vinegar has been a staple for some time but I found I can add 1/3 c. to boost color and softness without chemicals!

We love our new laundry products so far, the next laundry related post will be all about natural stain removal!

Leave a Reply

