A Dirty Little Secret

To say I love fruit and vegetables would be the understatement of the year, I was the weird kid who chose grapes over chocolate.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I first heard about the dirty dozen in 2007, I was already a proponent of organic foods and supporter of local health food stores and farmer’s markets.  As a spinach and blueberry addict, the dirty dozen helped me develop shopping priorities and distinguish between foods I should try to buy organic and foods I need to buy organic.  For years, I easily found a great selection of organic produce; that was until I moved to a small town where the local grocery stores left much to be desired.  The farmer’s market has always been a wonderful alternative, while not always organic; the quality is certainly better than the grocery store.  The organic selection in our current town of 43,000 people is disappointing so I often find myself buying conventionally grown produce.

But, I have a dirty little secret…

My effort to wash fruits and vegetables consists of a quick (and I mean quick) rinse.

Cringe.

I don’t have patience to scrub my apples with soap and scratch my fingernails on the surface to remove the wax coating.  I commit a major food sin every.single.day.

I have seen the fruit & veggie washes but it is so EASY and inexpensive to make your own spray at home.  The fizzy baking soda and vinegar helps dissolve the chemicals and waxes.  Just spray, let it sit for 2 minutes, then wash off.  I have been using this formula for awhile and I can see a big difference!

 

 

 

 

 

Mix all ingredients together, the fizz lets you know it is working 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fruit & Vegetable Wash:

Equal parts purified water and distilled white vinegar (I used 1 1/3 cups of each to fill my spray bottle)

1 tbsp. lemon juice

2 tbsp. baking soda

Directions: Spray produce then leave on for 2 minutes before rinsing with water.

Leave a Reply

